The Daily Republican Newspaper
Daily Republican Archive Links

The Federalist Papers

WASHINGTON DESK - The Federalist papers were first published on October 27, 1787 in the New York newspapers to defend and promote the ratification of the new Constitution. The Papers were written by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison under the pen name “PUBLIUS.” A total of 85 papers were published between 1787 and 1788:

  • Hamilton wrote 56.
  • Madison wrote twenty-one.
  • Jay wrote five.
  • Hamilton and Madison collaborated on three.

Index Detail


Click Here For Free Subscription!
Archive Search:



Netscape Navigator, America Online 3.0, or Microsoft Internet Explorer
provide the best viewing of The Daily Republican Newspaper.

Copyright © 1991-1998 JAVA, HTML Text Graphics by The Daily Republican Newspaper.
All rights reserved.